Archive for January 23, 2007

What’s up for homeschool in 2007

Inspite of the public holiday, homeschool started on 2007′s New Yea’s Day.  Anyway, we have had enough break, plus Dan not home to spend time with the children anyway, nothing to do, and lesson is ready, might as well start.

2006 – Reflection

Though we had LOTS of breaks in between, I’m still very happy with our progress.  Simply happy that Ethan is interested, eager and is “officially” a reader now. 

The capability to read is actually my only target for Ethan before he enters Primary 1.  Having had reached this target means I can put more focus and attention on other things and areas that I have neglected, and will want both of us to work on…

Both of us? why both?…

To me, homeschooling is really a path that I’m walking together with Ethan.  Its not just he that is learning, but me too.  I’m constantly learning about myself, my short comings, limitations, strength, etc…

I believe homeschooling Ethan has changed me…

Discipline

I wasn’t a discipline person at all… Never read the bible for more than 1 week in a row, always procastinating, waiting for the never ending ‘tomorrow’ to come…

But, homeschooling Ethan all on my own means that I can’t afford to have ill discipline anymore… yes, we still have lots of breaks, but compared to what I was before, I am happy to give myself a pat on my shoulder that I am now better at putting my own selfish desire aside.

Having the discipline to plan his work has also made it easier for me to have the discipline to read the bible, pray, and spend time with God.  This is definitely a priceless achievement that I’m happy about… Never in my near 2 decades as a Christian have I spent so much time in the Words, Prayers and God… This is definitely a breakthrough…

Now I know why God led me to homeschool my children…

Patience

Again, I’m definitely the last person on earth who has good patience for people, including my children…

To me, teaching children is tough, teaching own children, in my opinion, is even tougher… we parents, at least for me, tend to expect more, and when our children fall short of that expectation, its a challenge to control and hide our disappointment…

Having to homeschool my children means that I constantly need to be patient, esp when he doesn’t meet up to my expectations.  This is not easy, at least for me, but I’m still learning. I know its a path that I need to walk, and sad to say, my son is the one who has to bear with me…

I’m not there yet, but I know I will be…

So much more…

There are so much more things that I have gained that can’t be put into words… end of the day, as long as God leads, I will continue to homeschool, will stop when He says so…

What’s up for 2007?

Bible

Word of God, His ways, His teachings… I’m increasing our Bible/moral education.  Simply because I believe this is the time to build a person’s character.

I feel that I placed little emphasize on this last year, and at times, I do find that his bad behaviour is a result of my lack of commitment in this…

“Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added unto you.” Matthew 6:31

Chinese

70% of lesson will be done in Chinese.

Ashame to say that the thing that motivate Ethan to want to learn the language is::: mahjong!!!

He is interested in the game, so I told him that I will teach him how to play when agrees to have lesson in Mandarin, put in effort for this ‘new’ language, and he can converse reasonably well in Mandarin.

Not a very good way to motivate a child, but I’m desperate… He can’t speak in Mandarin and has little interest…

I’m not wanting him to learn the language for the sake of school or exam… Its our heritage, we are Chinese, and, I do love this language…

Its really sad to hear Ethan says : “I’m not Chinese, I’m English.”

So the urgency and priority is there… which is why I’m simply delighted that he can read English, so that gives me 100% focus on another language…

Social

He needs friends, not because I think he needs, but his behaviour tells me so… this is one area I have to put in some discipline to plan playdates…

(if you have a 2002 children and keen to meet up for playdate with my son, and for parents to catch up, please do email me at delci215@yahoo.com.)

Art

I’m bad at this… So, its really BOTH of us learning together… The “Usborne Complete Book of Art ideas” will definitely be well used this year..

I’m still thinking what can I do on the musical side… sigh…

Sports

Again, another area that is left out… I’m not trying to train an Olympian, but at least, regular sports has to be introduced…

English

Writing and spelling… nothing much to say about English, simply because I’m not focusing on it…

Homeschooling Zoe…

I’m starting to do simple activity with my little girl… nothing extensive, just some singing, action song, simple crafts that I can get direct online so I don’t need to spend time planning her school.

I will start ‘formal’ homeschooling in mid 2007, when she will be 2yr 9months. This is also the time when I started homeschooling Ethan with the co-op back than…

HOWEVER, in terms of academic development, Zoe is pretty different from Ethan, so I will still see how things go. 

And for Zoe, I may homeschool her differently.  I will love to take the child-led approach.  Currently, Ethan is really dependent on me, the teacher.  But for Zoe, this is where it differes.  She is very independent and pretty self-motivated.  So child-led approach may be better for her.

Beauty of homeschooling

Every children is different, and the beauty of homeschooling is that it is flexible, and we can adjust and cater to each child.

Will the materials and lessons used by Ethan be applicable for Zoe? Perhaps, but I do have a strong feelings that it may not be 100% ‘transferable’, simply because, they are both VERY different.

Perhaps, I may not even be homeschooling Zoe, but may send her to school… We shall see what He says…

2007… here we come…

January 23, 2007 at 1:58 am 1 comment


Recent Posts

Categories

January 2007
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Feeds


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.